Art, Politics, and Ceramic Showcase

 

Welcome.web

Welcome Home

 

Artists are in a unique position to bring attention to the events of their time.  Many say it is our responsibility to do so. It has been said that all art is political, whether or not the message is overt, because art always reflects the interests and values of the artist.

Case in point:  My sculpture typically has a lighthearted psychological bent.  But much of my “making” time this winter was spent working out my first response to current events.  Grief, fear, outrage, call to action. Wordsworth said that poetry is emotion recollected in tranquility,  though this process has been anything but tranquil. They are first drafts, where my heart was right there on my sleeve, barely distilled, and uncensored.  Poetry will come with time.

You’ll see my process, from shock and denial, in “First Response”, to preparing for activism in “Harnessing Love for the Fight”, and “Welcome Home”.  I noticed that my figures and faces have been mostly white, and changed that.  Out of the recesses of my twisted unconscious mind, the image of people with frogs on their heads came to stand for disbelief, or “You Can’t Make this (Shit) Up”, as well as “Endangered Species”, which recurs in several forms.  Images I’ve used before show up again with new meaning, such as “Sanctuary”, and “Eternal Optimist”.

I hope some of you will manage to stop by and visit me in Booth 10, at Ceramic Showcase.  We’re back at the Convention Center along with the Gathering of the Guilds, on April 21-23.  As always, best selection is on Friday.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art, Politics, and Ceramic Showcase

  1. susanpots says:

    You have been very busy! Looks great.

  2. Cyrel Gable says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feelings that went into these pieces. Very well stated. And it makes my experience of them so much richer. I feel like I have neglected to talk to you about your work in this way and look forward to doing more of that in the future. On Tue, Apr 11, 2017 at 1:59 PM Pat Berman Ceramics wrote:

    > patberman posted: ” Artists are in a unique position to bring attention > to the events of their time. Many say it is our responsibility to do so. > It has been said that all art is political, whether or not the message is > overt, because art always reflects th” >

Leave a Reply

